[Kerwin at Passrider.com] CES Recap | Visa Update For Türkiye

CES Recap and Visa Updates

Hi,

So, how’s your week?

As mentioned last week, I spent mine in Las Vegas at CES, the world’s largest consumer electronic show. However, it was more of a mobility (car) show as usual. But I’m not complaining at all.

I took American Airlines via DFW (trying to get to the Platinum this year) out and United back as United had the best schedule that would let me maximize my time there. I was even offered a travel voucher if they needed my seat, but unfortunately, they did not :-(. My equipment was even changed from a 737 MAX 8 to a 737-800; grrr… And PS: I hate red-eye flights. You?

Watch my Instagram feed as well as my YouTube Channel for videos and photos from the show. And here are some highlights from CES Unveiled - https://www.passrider.com/ces-2024-unveiled-highlights/

If you’re into TVs, LG launched a 4K transparent TV, yeah, it’s plain glass, then it’s a TV, weird. Take a look…

Plus, The flying Car has finally arrived:

Houston will have severe cold weather this weekend into early next week, so be aware that there will be delays. Plan accordingly.

Here’s what I have for you this week.

Table of Contents

Alaska Airlines Incident on the Boeing 737 MAX 9

A week ago, January 5, 2024, Alaska Airlines AS1282, a Boeing 737 MAX 9 was departing Portland, OR for Ontario, CA. At about 16,000’ the Exit door plug on the left-hand side of the airplane ejected from the airplane causing it to depressurize, oxygen masks were deployed as the pilots returned the aircraft safely to the Portland airport. All 171 passengers and six crew members survived thankfully; albeit pretty shaken up based on the news reports.

My latest podcast talks about it all. Lots have happened since my podcast, so I’ll do a podcast update tomorrow.

If you’re flying, your flights may be affected even though you’re not flying on a Boeing 737 MAX 9 as the airlines (Alaska Airlines and United) juggle their schedules to make up for the lack of the 737 MAX 9s flying.

Into RVing?

I Heart RVingWelcome to I Heart RVing—your ultimate hub for RV inspiration, tips, and on-the-road fun!

Budapest, Hungary

If you’ve not already, please let me know if you’d be interested in going on a trip to Budapest, Hungary?

Visa Update

In a recent newsletter, I spoke about the need for visas for select countries. Turkey was one of them. Well, a visa is no longer required for visiting Türkiye for Canadians and Americans for stays up to 90 days and within a 180 days period. The statement was issued by the Turkish government on the 11th of January, 2024.

The coast of Kusadasi, Turkey

Airline Trivia

Here are the results of the poll from last week: “Northwest Airlines merged with which airline?”

⬜️⬜️⬜️⬜️⬜️⬜️ United Airlines (5)

🟩🟩🟩🟩🟩🟩 Delta Air Lines (39)

🟨⬜️⬜️⬜️⬜️⬜️ American Airlines (6)

🟨⬜️⬜️⬜️⬜️⬜️ Air France/KLM (7)

57 Votes

Thank you for participating.

If you have a trivia question to add, hit reply and supply the question and the answers and also the correct answer. And I’ll queue it up for future newsletters.

This Week’s Poll

Which airline is the oldest continuously operating airline in the world?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

The Travel Events Calendar

  • Australian Open (Tennis) - Melbourne, Australia (MEL), January 14-28, 2024

  • Martin Luther King Jr. Day 2024, Monday, January 15, 2024

  • Presidents' Day, Monday, February 19, 2024

Find Me Online

Feel free to follow me on the channel you prefer.

Travel Insurance

Travel insurance is just as important as booking your flights and your hotel; it’s a part of the journey. it gives you peace of mind when you travel. At least, it does for me. That’s why I have an annual policy. Consider getting travel insurance for every trip or an annual policy. you don’t need it until you need it.

Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe and Zambia

Travel Credit Cards

Do you use a credit card to enhance the travel experience?

Chase IHG MasterCard Offer
One way to get hotel points is to get one of these massive credit card offers. Chase has a current offer for 4 FREE nights; this is pretty epic as it's usually about 40K+/night if you stay in popular cities. This is a great deal and you should at least check it out. I also get some miles if you get a card, so we both could win.

YouTube Travel Videos

You can see my travel videos at https://www.youtube.com/cruisinaltitude. Please subscribe and setup notifications so you will be the first to know when I load new videos.

Supporting Passrider

THANK YOU so much for continuing to donate to keep the site going. It is truly appreciated.

If you like this newsletter and also the information on Passrider.com, please consider a donation or by clicking on the photo below. This will help to continue bringing the information to you.

And remember if you are purchasing something on Amazon, you can always use https://www.passrider.com/amazon and booking a hotel head over to
Booking a Tour, click here to book one
Booking a Hotel, click here to book one [Passrider.com/hotels]​
Booking a Flight, click here to book one [Passrider.com/skyscanner]

Thank you!

Tenerife

Thank you for traveling with me this week. See you next week.

Reply

or to participate.