[Kerwin at Passrider.com] Why Are Flights Weight Restricted?

Lots of questions about flight loads and weight restriction recently...

Hi Fellow Traveler,

Happy Easter if you celebrate it.

Growing up in Jamaica, from Thursday (yesterday) to next Monday the country is pretty much at a standstill. On Easter Sunday, the churches are full! More full than at Christmas time. It’s pretty phenomenal.

We eat Easter bun and cheese which is quite yummy. Yummy is actually one of the names of the bun company too. It’s not hot cross buns, it’s a sweet pastry that’s like a cake, but different. It’s a big thing in Jamaica :-).

I couldn’t find any buns at my local grocery store so I had to pay more than double for one online from Amazon. Grrr… But it’s Easter and I have my bun and cheese. Here’s a post I did about bun and cheese - https://www.cookingwithkerwin.com/have-some-jamaican-easter-bun-and-cheese/.

Remember that on Sunday, the U.K. springs forward one hour, so if you’re flying in/out of the U.K., check your flight times.

London City Airport (LCY)

Remember to read the article I wrote on alternative things to do during Spring Break. You can find it here.

Here’s what I have for you this week.

If you’re looking for a new newsletter service, the one I’m using is called beehiiv. Check it out.

The Travel Events Calendar

  • Ramadan, Sunday, March 10, - Tuesday, April 9, 2024

  • NCAA March Madness, Tuesday, March 19 - Monday, April 8, 2024

  • Good Friday, Friday March 29, 2024

  • Spring Forward Day U.K. - Sunday, March 31, 2024

  • Easter Sunday, Sunday March 31, 2024

  • Easter Monday, Monday, April 1, 2024

  • Passover, Monday, April 22 - Tuesday, April 30, 2024

Sponsored
Adventure FixDiscover Extraordinary Travel Adventures.

This Week’s Aviation/Airline News

Here are some newsworthy items in aviation this week. It would seem like every day, something is happening to an airplane:

With long flights, some airlines restrict the airplane’s passenger payload so it can maximize the amount of revenue it makes on a flight.

I get this question a lot, what is weight restriction and why is my flight weight restricted? I’ve done a video to explain this, so take a look below.

In addition, I’ve written four posts about alternate routes from different parts of the world to/from North America. I’ve just updated the one for Asia as since United started flying to Manila from San Francisco, people are asking about Weight Restrictions a lot. This should help - https://www.passrider.com/non-rev-travel-guide-many-ways-to-get-between-asia-and-the-north-america/.

If you like this newsletter, please share it with at least two others. Thank you.

Travel Talk

I didn’t do any new episodes this week, but you can find other episodes at https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLPHzFhaYG948Y1D61nIwU6JiLS0rxr8Ph

Sponsored
Perfect. Travel. Only.A New Destination Daily with all the best places to stay, things to do, and places to eat.

Podcast (What’s Happening In Travel With Cushrow and Kerwin)

No new episode this week, but episode 120 is available. I talk about Canadian airline Lynx Air ceasing operation, UA’s B757-200 has a slat mishap, AA has a new route to Jamaica, airlines increase baggage fees and a passenger refusing to give up their seat. Have a listen and let me know what you think, please.

Find Me Online

Feel free to follow me on the channel you prefer.

If you have an online profile and want to spruce it up a bit, try Beacons.ai. This is the system that I use for my online links profile. Let me know what you think?

Travel Insurance

Travel insurance is just as important as booking your flights and your hotel; it’s a part of the journey. it gives you peace of mind when you travel. At least, it does for me. That’s why I have an annual policy. Consider getting travel insurance for every trip or an annual policy. you don’t need it until you need it.

Note: If you purchase travel insurance via this link, I receive a small commission. Thank you in advance.

Caribbean Airlines Boeing 737-800 Landing In SXM

Travel Credit Cards

If you use credit cards, then consider getting a card that gives you points for every dollar you spend. This will ensure that you can travel almost for free when you are ready.

Here are a few travel offers that came to my mailbox.

Note: I will receive points as a commission if you apply for and is approved for any of these cards. Thank you in advance.

Chase IHG MasterCard Offer
One way to get hotel points is to get one of these massive credit card offers. Chase has a current offer for 4 FREE nights; this is pretty epic as it's usually about 40K+/night if you stay in popular cities. This is a great deal and you should at least check it out. I also get some miles if you get a card, so we both could win.

YouTube Travel Videos (New videos every week)

You can see my travel videos at https://www.youtube.com/cruisinaltitude. Please subscribe and set up notifications so you will be the first to know when I load new videos.

Supporting Passrider

THANK YOU so much for continuing to donate to keep the site going. It is truly appreciated.

And if you have a question or need help, just send me an email here.

Plus, If you like this newsletter and also the information on Passrider.com, please consider a donation or by clicking on the photo below. This will help to continue bringing the information to you.

And remember if you are purchasing something on Amazon, you can always use https://www.passrider.com/amazon and booking a hotel head over to
Booking a Tour, click here to book one
Booking a Hotel, click here to book one [Passrider.com/hotels]​
Booking a Flight, click here to book one [Passrider.com/skyscanner].

You can find additional resources at https://www.passrider.com/resources.

Thank you!

Tell me what you think of this newsletter edition

This helps me to ensure that I only provide you the best content each week

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Thank you for traveling with me this week. See you next week.

Join the conversation

or to participate.